Why SMB and Enterprise Sales Have Nothing In Common

SaaStr

Let’s break down for example what SMB sales at low price points typically is, and indeed needs to be, to scale: SMB SaaS companies are overloaded with “leads” They often have so many that they cannot follow up with all of them.

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Networking Technology: SMB

SaaS Metrics

You might not have heard of the SMB protocol but still use it daily. The Server Message Block (SMB) is a network protocol. All Windows operating systems which are used for networking can run the SMB protocol. Networking Terminology network protocol smb protocol wannacry attack

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“What Are You Seeing? #001” with Romain Lapeyre, CEO of Gorgias: 2,500+ SMB E-Commerce Customers

SaaStr

001” with Romain Lapeyre, CEO of Gorgias: 2,500+ SMB E-Commerce Customers appeared first on SaaStr. I’m kicking off a new series at SaaStr on the #1 question everyone asks me, and I think is asking: “What Are You Seeing?”

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Swipe debit card, get stock; In defense of the IPO; New models for SMB lending, and more

Andreessen Horowitz

… The post Swipe debit card, get stock; In defense of the IPO; New models for SMB lending, and more appeared first on Andreessen Horowitz. This first appeared in the monthly a16z fintech newsletter. Subscribe to stay on top of the latest fintech news. . IN THIS EDITION.

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How To Manage Customers In Microsoft 365 [formerly Office 365] for SMB

Nimble - Sales

The post How To Manage Customers In Microsoft 365 [formerly Office 365] for SMB appeared first on Nimble Blog.

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How To Sell Software To Small Business: Successfully Selling SaaS to SMB in 2021

Nimble - Sales

The post How To Sell Software To Small Business: Successfully Selling SaaS to SMB in 2021 appeared first on Nimble Blog. The COVID pandemic rang the bell of change for humanity. We rushed for a break from normalcy with the curiosity of schoolchildren.

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“The Secret to SMB Sales” Accel Partner Andrei Brasoveanu and Doctolib Chief Development Officer Agnes Bazin

SaaStr

The first step in success with SMB clients is to recognize that it’s not a one size fits all scenario. Companies need a specialized approach for SMB accounts, different than the tactics used for Enterprise. Andrei Brasoveanu will sit down for a conversation with Agnes Bazin Doctolib on how to create a targeted and effective sales process tailor-made for SMB. We knew from the beginning that we had to be excellent in SMB sales because basically there is no other way around it.

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Selling to Enterprise (Just Like Selling to SMB… Right?)

Sales Hacker

How do I get promoted from SMB/MM to enterprise? When one LoB closes… How Do I Get Promoted from SMB/MM to Enterprise? The post Selling to Enterprise (Just Like Selling to SMB… Right?) In my early years as a leader, I remember one of the first eye-popping conversations I had with an account executive (AE) on my team.

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“The Secret to SMB Sales” Accel Partner Andrei Brasoveanu and Doctolib Chief Development Officer Agnes Bazin (Video + Transcript)

SaaStr

The first step in success with SMB clients is to recognize that it’s not a one size fits all scenario. Companies need a specialized approach for SMB accounts, different than the tactics used for Enterprise. Andrei Brasoveanu will sit down for a conversation with Agnes Bazin Doctolib on how to create a targeted and effective sales process tailor-made for SMB. We knew from the beginning that we had to be excellent in SMB sales because basically there is no other way around it.

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From SMB to Enterprise: A 2-Step Strategy to Boost Adoption & Growth

Sales Hacker

Enterprise sales is hard, which is why most businesses start as an SMB org and grow into an enterprise org. So let’s look at how to drive sales in a high-growth situation, so the transition from SMB to enterprise is smoother (and faster). 2 rules for transitioning from SMB to enterprise. The post From SMB to Enterprise: A 2-Step Strategy to Boost Adoption & Growth appeared first on Sales Hacker.

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Weekly Walk with Deputy’s Global President & SMB Team Sales Manager, Steve Power & Laura Bartkiewicz

OpenView Labs

The post Weekly Walk with Deputy’s Global President & SMB Team Sales Manager, Steve Power & Laura Bartkiewicz appeared first on OpenView Labs. Weekly Walk

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InsightSquared’s Dreamforce 2017 Sessions for Sales & Sales Operations Professionals

InsightSquared

Mike Wolff, SVP, Commercial Sales, at Salesforce, Adrian Rosenkranz, Head of SMB Marketing at Salesforce, Peri McDonald, Regional Vice President, Customer Success at Salesforce and Fred Shilmover, co-founder and CEO of InsightSquared. Market, sell and support: best practices from SMB leaders — Wednesday, November 8 at 1 – 1:40 p.m., Cost-effectively marketing & selling to, servicing, and retaining SMB customers is daunting for any organization.

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PODCAST 53: Transitioning to Move Upmarket from SMB to Enterprise w/ David Katz

Sales Hacker

He also gives us a framework for how to move upmarket, and the requirements for taking a company from the SMB space all the way to the enterprise. Strategies for moving upmarket, and how to transition from SMB to enterprise. One of the things we’re going to be talking about today is how to move upmarket and how to take a company that’s been focused on high volume SMB, high velocity sales, and move them into the enterprise.

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SMB Owners Share Their Payment Pain Points in WePay’s State of Small Business Payments 2020 Survey

wepay

The post SMB Owners Share Their Payment Pain Points in WePay’s State of Small Business Payments 2020 Survey appeared first on WePay Blog. A ton has happened this year around the world – it’s been a rollercoaster – especially for small businesses.

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Three Counterintuitive Points about SMB SaaS

Tomasz Tunguz

Kenny van Zant drew this diagram for me on white board and I think it’s the best visualization of how SMB SaaS freemium business grow. The diagram highlights a few important mechanics of the SMB SaaS business model. In any given freemium user base, small-office/home-office (1 to 20 employee shops) users tend to be a few times larger in size than true SMB customer (20 to 500 employees).

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The Pressure to Move Up Market Facing SMB SaaS Startups

Tomasz Tunguz

When an SMB SaaS startup is young with quickly growing revenues, more of the same works. For some SMB SaaS companies, generating this kind of lead volume even at scale isn’t a challenge. But many SMB SaaS startups eventually outstrip their initial user acquisition channels whether they be word-of-mouth, content marketing, mobile app distribution, channel partnerships. ARR 1 5 10 25 50 100. New Customers per Year 1333 6667 13,333 33,333 66,667 133,333.

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The Characteristics of the Most Attractive SMB SaaS Companies

Tomasz Tunguz

What are the attributes of the ideal SMB SaaS company, an entrepreneur asked me recently. I believe that the next wave of SaaS companies will be centered around workflows, Event Driven SaaS , and this extends to SMB SaaS. I don’t have the answer to building an amazing SMB SaaS company. It’s a good question. There are product, marketing, and sales attributes to that ideal company that successful SaaS business have exemplified in the past. Product.

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The Most Successful SMB SaaS Acquisition Channel Ever Built

Tomasz Tunguz

Channel distribution represents one of the biggest and most important changes in customers acquisition for SMB SaaS startups in quite a while. One of the most interesting examples is Microsoft’s Office 365 SMB business. It’s the most successful SMB SaaS acquisition channel ever built. Thomas Hansen was Worldwide Vice President of SMB at Microsoft. After all, he’s built the most success SMB SaaS channel ever.

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Guide to Buying SaaS Accounting Software and Top 5 Solutions

SaaS Metrics

Buying SaaS Services best accounting software best accounting solutions saas accounting solutions SMB accounting solutions top 5 accounting

The Secret to SMB SaaS Distribution

Tomasz Tunguz

SMB SaaS companies cannot afford to pay for distribution. The most successful SMB SaaS companies (Zendesk, Expensify, Square) build communities to drive distribution. At 2 to 4% conversion to paid rates and $5 to $10 monthly subscription fees, the breakeven CPC for these products on search is $0.40. The average Google click costs three times this and the iOS average cost-per-install is more than twice as expensive.

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SMB Update: End-of-Year Hurdles for Small Businesses

wepay

While most of us are occupied with shopping and travel for the holidays, small & medium-sized business (SMB) owners have even more end-of-year issues to navigate. In our second national SMB & Money Survey , we developed a better understanding of how the holiday season impacts entrepreneurs and their businesses. As a partner to platform businesses, we’ve developed best practices to quash SMB pain points.

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SaaS Blogs Not to be Missed

OPEXEngine

Pros and Cons: SaaS SMB vs. Enterprise Models. SaaS companies selling in the SMB market are structured operationally very differently from SaaS companies selling in the enterprise market.

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Are SMB SaaS Companies Valued Differently than Mid-Market SaaS Businesses?

Tomasz Tunguz

Today, we’ll dig into valuation metrics to see if there’s any systematic bias in the investor community for SMB, Mid-Market and Enterprise SaaS companies. SMB is less than $10k, Mid-Market is between $10k and $100k, and Enterprise is greater than $100k in average customer value. The data indicates that SMB companies trade on average at 8.1x In the SMB and Mid-Market, there’s quite a bit of variance.

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SMB update: WePay survey finds payment challenges galore

wepay

The WePay SMB & Money Survey , a national survey of 505 U.S. Data from the WePay SMB & Money Survey reveals additional benefits for SMBs that accept payments online. The post SMB update: WePay survey finds payment challenges galore appeared first on WePay Blog. What’s it like to run a small business? What obstacles do small business owners face? small business owners, addressed these and other questions.

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The Defining Characteristics of Successful SMB SaaS Startups

Tomasz Tunguz

At first glance, SMB SaaS companies, those who sell Software-as-a-Service to small to medium businesses, may seem like any other software company. Successful SMB SaaS companies have reinvented their businesses eschewing the expensive enterprise sales model in favor of end-user centric marketing, support and product development. SMB SaaS companies sell to a highly fragmented market. Effective SMB products also prequalify customers through the Product Qualified Lead.

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Successful SMB SaaS Companies Have a 2 Step Value Proposition

Tomasz Tunguz

On first glance, SMB SaaS companies, those who sell Software-as-a-Service to small to medium businesses, may seem like any other software company. SMB SaaS companies sell to a radically different market than enterprise software companies. On the other hand, SMB SaaS companies sell to firms with 10 employees and $400k in annual payroll. SMB SaaS companies need to reach and market to 1,000 times more companies than their enterprise counterparts.

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The 5-Step SMB Sales Call Follow-Up Framework [Templates]

Sales Hacker

For years now, I’ve taught a simple follow-up framework to salespeople and RevenueZen clients who are going after SMB and mid-market buyers — perfect for when you’re talking directly to the decision maker and there are only a few stakeholders involved. The post The 5-Step SMB Sales Call Follow-Up Framework [Templates] appeared first on Sales Hacker. Whether they want to admit it or not, prospects rely on us as salespeople to usher them along the sales process. But here’s the thing….

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What’s a Good Net Retention Rate in SaaS?

SaaStr

Let’s look at some of the top public SaaS companies: Shopify — very SMB: 100%. Hubspot — mostly SMB: 100%. Surverymonkey — fairly SMB, but going more enterprise: 100%. Zendesk — 116%, mix of SMB and enterprise. Developer-focused, but still fairly SMB.

Is The SDR Model Broken?

Predictable Revenue

Throughout the webinar, Aaron and Collin discuss what needs to happen industry-wide to get things back on track, and to change the industry in 2020 to bring the SMB Outbound SDR model back to life.

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5 Interesting Learnings From Wix at $1 Billion+ in ARR

SaaStr

Efficient at SMB marketing — an ~8 month CAC. We saw in this series other SMB leaders like GoDaddy and Xero need to get well into Year 2 to go profitable on a new customer, but Wix gets there in just 7-9 months. Quite an incredible SMB success story!

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5 Interesting Learnings from Xero. As It Crosses $650m in ARR.

SaaStr

What lessons can we learn from this huge Kiwi SMB success, for other founders? ” So even in SMB sales in smaller markets, if you take dominant market share — you can get to $500m+ in ARR! Xero’s SMB churn isn’t zero. Aim for that at least in your SMB segment if you can, and if you can provide at least as much value as Xero. Customer Lifetime Value is 81 months, from SMB That’s impressive.

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SMB or Enterprise - Which is the Better Go To Market in SaaS?

Tomasz Tunguz

SMB to mid-market to enterprise or straight to enterprise?” In exchange for these benefits, SMB startups cede the enterprise market early on. Oracle (enterprise) bought Netsuite (SMB) for $9.3B. A friend recently asked, “Which path is better for SaaS startups? ” It’s a key strategic question for many founders building software companies. Startups that initially target small to medium businesses benefit from several key advantages.

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Are Hubspot and Salesforce competitors?

SaaStr

Yes, it has SMB customers. And Hubspot is very SMB. Q: Are Hubspot and Salesforce competitors? Barely. Yes, on the surface, Hubspot competes with Salesforce. It’s 4 core products also 4 core product for Salesforce: Sales, Marketing, Support, and Service.

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5 Interesting Learnings from Upwork at $400,000,000 in ARR

SaaStr

80% SMB, 20% Enterprise. While Upwork has made inrounds into the enterprise, it remains squarely an SMB product.

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If You Leave the Low End of the Market … You Probably Can’t Go Back

SaaStr

The startups I’m involved with that have happy SMB customers have much higher brand awareness around $10m in general than those that don’t. This makes the SMB leads worth a lot more than just their direct lifetime value.

5 Interesting Learnings from Zendesk. As It Crosses $1B in ARR.

SaaStr

Zendesk doesn’t see the 140%+ net retention we see in the enterprise (big deal sizes) or in many B2D companies like Twilio, but it’s still above 110% for a business that is 60% Enterprise / 40% SMB. Sometimes, you just stay a steady mix of Enterprise and SMB.

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Salesforce Essentials review: Stripped-back CRM wins on functionality

ITPro

The SMB edition of one of the world's most popular sales tools dials down both cost and complexity. Reviews.

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5-6 Years Is About As Fast As You Can Mint a True VP of Sales

SaaStr

Month 6: promoted to first SMB rep. Month 9: makes SMB most profitable segment, becomes #2 rep. We’ve talked a lot about hiring a VP of Sales at SaaStr , and if you hire a stretch VP of Sales (as most of you will) … how much you can stretch.

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Don’t Settle for Less Than 100% NRR from SMBs

SaaStr

Zendesk: 112% NRR overall, with 40% SMB. And yes, many top SaaS SMB leaders didn’t have 100% NRR in the early days.

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The Untold Secret Why Data Is Everything (In Less Than Ten Minutes)

Trujay

To software engineers, to SaaS companies, to SMB’s, yes, it is a big deal. That sounds like a no-big-deal term in the general sense. But it’s also prevalent to them. We use data to analyze our customer behavior. We use it to store our client information.

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