Expect A Lot More $2B+ Acquisitions in SaaS and Cloud

SaaStr

Q: Which merger and acquisition trends, if any, do you expect to unfold in the next 12 months? If you are worth $20b-$1T+, you often don’t want to wait for a small acquisition or internal initiative to bear fruit.

How to prepare your startup for acquisition

Chart Mogul

4x entrepreneur Andrew Gazdecki shares how you can better prepare yourself for your startup's acquisition, and make the journey a rewarding one. Every stage of the startup acquisition process – and I mean every stage – is a negotiation. Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC).

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How Long Does It Take To Get to A Billion+ Acquisition in SaaS? About 10 Years

SaaStr

The other day Coupa did its first $1B+ acquisition, of 18+ year old Llamsoft. There should be a lot more billion+ acquisitions in Cloud and SaaS, if only because there are more decacorns to buy them. But there will be a bunch more $1B+ acquisitions coming in SaaS.

Data-Driven Outbound as an Acquisition Channel

Sales Hacker

The post Data-Driven Outbound as an Acquisition Channel appeared first on Sales Hacker. Sales Development Live Events

2020 Database Strategies and Contact Acquisition Survey Report

As buyer expectations continue to heighten, marketing and sales teams are feeling pressured to deliver authentic messaging to buyers at every point of their customer journey. This report aims to highlight the current state of B2B database and contact acquisition strategies, and organizations’ goals to leverage data to fuel their go-to-market strategies in 2020 and beyond.

Three Secrets to a Successful Acquisition

SaaStr

An acquisition can make or break your startup. Take IBM’s recent purchase of RedHat to accelerate hybrid cloud adoption, or Salesforce’s acquisition of Mulesoft to coordinate, unlock, and integrate customer data better than any competitor. As a former M&A attorney and serial SaaS founder myself, I’ve experienced acquisitions from every point of view. Always always always check to make sure you have clean rights to an acquisition target’s technology.

Aligning SaaS Customer Acquisition

Chaotic Flow

SaaS customer acquisition should focus on maximizing available market penetration, not increasing available market size, and to do that you have to have a very clear picture of your target SaaS customers. Bad prospects waste precious sales cycles and marketing dollars, driving up your customer acquisition costs. It’s better to say no up front, and make expanding your available market an element of your SaaS product strategy, not SaaS customer acquisition.

The Age of the $1 Billion+ Acquisition in SaaS Has Just Begun

SaaStr

And their largest acquisition to date at the time was (drumroll, please) $15m. Not every company is acquisitive (see, e.g. Apple, Workday, etc). But most end up doing more and more acquisitions over time. But, what was once impossible (a $1b acquisition) and then rare is now becoming routine. The post The Age of the $1 Billion+ Acquisition in SaaS Has Just Begun appeared first on SaaStr.

Driving SaaS Customer Acquisition w/Success Metrics

Chaotic Flow

Most SaaS businesses begin their journey down the SaaS metrics path by tracking recurring revenue in relation to customer acquisition costs. SaaS profit = current customers x ( avg recurring revenue – avg recurring cost ) – new customers x avg acquisition cost. Is it possible to apply SaaS customer success metrics to customer acquisition? SaaS customer acquisition is merely SaaS prospect success. This third post examines their use in SaaS customer acquisition.

What was the biggest acquisition failure or missed opportunity by a company?

SaaStr

Q: What was the biggest acquisition failure or missed opportunity by a company? The post What was the biggest acquisition failure or missed opportunity by a company? It’s hard to really force rank a list, especially of deals you don’t know about. And it’s easy to be an arm-chair quarterback on all this. Still, my partial list in Cloud/SaaS: Google letting Microsoft buy / outbid for Github for $7.5b. If you want to own the developer relationship, you own Github. Microsoft knew this.

The Revenue Leader's Guide to Prospecting

Speaker: Christopher Ryan, Founder and CEO of Fusion Marketing Partners

Sales & Marketing departments that work together guarantee higher acquisition, better nurturing, and more effective sales. Join Christopher Ryan for this insightful webinar, presenting the wide funnel lead nurturing model. Don't miss out on this opportunity to get your teams working together and your revenue performance optimized.

Setting the Salesforce/Tableau Acquisition in Context

Tomasz Tunguz

Let’s put this acquisition in context. First, it’s the third business intelligence related acquisition in the past month. Google announced the Looker acquisition last week. Second, the Salesforce/Tableau acquisition is the third largest software acquisition since 2012, second to Microsoft acquiring LinkedIn and IBM purchasing RedHat. in acquisitions suggests that 2019 will be similarly active as 2018, which saw $66B of acquisitions.

Freemium: It's About Acquisition, Not Revenue

ProfitWell

During our conversation, Hiten and I walk through how freemium acts as an acquisition strategy as opposed to a revenue driver, how product teams need to think about things differently, and why it’s important to understand customer psychology when building your own freemium product to make everything work together. Freemium is an acquisition model, not a revenue model. With that in mind, there are some customer acquisition cost (CAC) implications that also make freemium appealing.

What are some of the most overlooked details or challenges when integrating two companies post-acquisition?

SaaStr

Q: What are some of the most overlooked details or challenges when integrating two companies post-acquisition? I can make a long list of challenges and overlooked details in acquisitions, but I think they all stem from 1 issue: not being honest about what things will look like in 24 months: Does the CEO really want to stay? What if the business does worse than planned after the acquisition? But if the acquisition under-performs, resources are often cut.

SaaS Marketing | Accelerating Customer Acquisition

Chaotic Flow

SaaS marketing professionals know that customer acquisition is the name of the game. What they generally don’t know is that sustainable SaaS growth requires accelerating customer acquisition. The first post in this series introduced the three fundamental levers of SaaS growth: customer acquisition, customer lifetime value and viral customer network effects. The fundamental goal of SaaS marketing is to remove buyer roadblocks to accelerate customer acquisition.

New Study: 2018 State of Embedded Analytics Report

Embedded analytics also helps companies master efficient customer acquisition and retention. In terms of customer acquisition and retention, embedded analytics unquestionably boosts business. 2018 STATE OF. EMBEDDED. ANALYTICS. REPORT The Sixth Annual Review of Embedded.

Customer Acquisition: What Everyone Gets Wrong in 2019 [Guide]

ProfitWell

What is customer acquisition? Customer acquisition is the process of gaining new customers. Customer acquisition is one of the most popular growth levers for SaaS businesses because it is the most literal way to grow your customer base. Acquisition for a SaaS company means signing up new, paying customers. Additionally, acquisition only refers to the act of getting a customer to join. Factors influencing a customer acquisition strategy.

How to Calculate Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC)

OPEXEngine

Today we’re taking a deep-dive into one of the most crucial SaaS metrics around: customer acquisition cost (CAC). HOW TO CALCULATE CUSTOMER ACQUISITION COST. Customer acquisition cost is designed to tell you how much you need to spend to acquire a single new customer. For example, if you spent $5,000 apiece on sales and marketing in a given month, and closed 10 new customers over that same time period, that month’s Customer Acquisition Cost would be $1,000.

How to Calculate Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC)

Cobloom

Today we're taking a deep-dive into one of the most crucial SaaS metrics around: customer acquisition cost (CAC Whether you're trying to work out how efficient your sales and marketing strategies are, or determine how profitable your current customers are, it's vital to keep a pulse on the health of your SaaS business. Thankfully, there's a simple performance metric that does both.

Building an Acquisition-Centered Content Strategy for Your Product

OpenView Labs

When it comes to content acquisition, most of the battle is fought in the strategic arena: how you plan your content and what you produce has almost everything to do with the pliability and elasticity of your conversion optimization efforts.

Micro Startup Acquisition: The Definitive Guide to Buying and Selling Small Startups

Neil Patel

Micro startup acquisitions. But before we dive into that, we need to look into what micro startup acquisitions are and why you need to sit up and take notice. Micro Startup Acquisitions: What Are They, and Why Should I Care? Micro Startup Acquisition Trends.

Tracking Customer Acquisition in SaaS

Pierre Lechelle

When was the last time you invested money into Customer Acquisition? Tracking Customer Acquisition can solve all […]. Cet article Tracking Customer Acquisition in SaaS est apparu en premier sur Pierre Lechelle. Are you a CMO? Today? When was the last time you felt confident spending one dollar because you’d get back 10 dollars? And I’m not speaking about extrapolating LTV. I’m speaking about real LTV on a specific customer.

Customer acquisition vs. retention: Which is best for growth?

ProfitWell

Customer acquisition vs. customer retention—which one is better? Nevertheless, many companies focus the majority of their time and resources on acquisition. Let's dive into the details of customer acquisition and retention, and see if we can answer that question. What is customer acquisition? Put simply, customer acquisition is the process of gaining new customers. Acquisition and retention: the two key drivers of growth. Acquisition is more expensive.

What do founders need to know to successfully navigate a merger/acquisition?

SaaStr

For most of us, especially if the acquisition is after years of doing it “our way” — that can be very frustrating. The post What do founders need to know to successfully navigate a merger/acquisition? My #1 tip: Get Zen. Once you sell it, it is not yours anymore. And both your upside and your downside are now capped. You can no longer fail or run out of money, but really, you can no longer win in the same ways, either.

How to Make User Acquisition Practically Free with Lambda School (Video + Transcript)

SaaStr

There’s a little bit of work to do still, but you know, tonight the title of my talk is how to make user acquisition practically free. So I have thought for a really long time, and I wrote a book about this, but the more I think about how to drop the cost of user acquisition, the more clear it becomes to me that it’s not about the typical model that people have in their mind when they’re thinking about this, and the typical problem set that people are trying to solve.

What Is a Platform Acquisition?

Divestopedia

Building your business through acquisition (either as the acquiree or acquirer) is a sound strategy. Use established businesses as a platform to bolster your industry presence. This article will show you how and why

Disrupting the Desk Phone: How and Why We Made a $50M Acquisition with Dialpad (Video + Transcript)

SaaStr

Thanks so much everyone for joining us for our fireside chat today, disrupting the desk phone: how and why we made a $50 million acquisition. But even just this past week, I learned so much more of the inside scoop of this acquisition, and that’s why we’re really excited to share more today, both about why some acquisitions … A lot of them you don’t hear ever of how they turn out. And when I was at Google, we did a couple acquisitions.

What is customer acquisition cost and why does it matter?

Inside Intercom

How to think about costs in your customer acquisition strategy. If all you care about is optimizing for customer acquisition, you might think all five ads were created equal and allocate your budget accordingly. Pure customer acquisition metrics are popular, but dangerously inexact tools for calibrating and scaling your company growth. What is Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC)? How Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC) works day-to-day.

8 Smart Tactics For Your SaaS Customer Acquisition Strategy

Incredo

Just look at customer acquisition vs retention statistics. What if I am starting out a business and don’t even have leads, not to mention SaaS customer acquisition strategy? And don’t forget that buyer persona-focused and well-designed packages can deeply affect your prospects and encourage them to make a buying decision faster. How to avoid mistakes while implementing your SaaS customer acquisition strategy? Are all mistakes equal?

Credit Karma’s acquisition; FICO’s new scoring system; Better tech for tenants, and more

Andreessen Horowitz

What Credit Karma’s acquisition will mean for its products. … The post Credit Karma’s acquisition; FICO’s new scoring system; Better tech for tenants, and more appeared first on Andreessen Horowitz. This first appeared in the monthly a16z fintech newsletter. Subscribe here to stay on top of the latest fintech news. . IN THIS EDITION. The hype around FICO’s new credit scoring system.

The Things Nobody Tells You About An $8B Acquisition with Ryan Smith from Qualtrics (Video + Transcript)

SaaStr

Join Qualtrics Co-Founder and CEO alongside SaaStr Founder and CEO Jason Lemkin as Ryan reflects on the survey software maker’s acquisition by SAP this year. Ryan Smith: The backstory here is we turned down an acquisition offer for $500 million in 2012. Brand experience, measuring people’s brands, employee experience, it’s been $10 billion in acquisitions in that space and we’re kicking butt.

Customer Acquisition Spending: Lessons from Workday

Practical Advice on SaaS marketing

Specifically, it illustrates the need for software-as-a-service (SaaS) companies to spend money - lots of it - on customer acquisition. times more on customer acquisition than annual revenues, and in 2007 it spent nearly 18 times more than annual revenues. Though the cost of customer acquisition relative to annual revenues has declined steadily, on-going customer acquisition expenses will continue to keep Workday in the red for some time.

8 Smart Tactics For Your SaaS Customer Acquisition Strategy

Incredo

Just look at customer acquisition vs retention statistics. What if I am starting out a business and don’t even have leads, not to mention SaaS customer acquisition strategy? And don’t forget that buyer persona-focused and well-designed packages can deeply affect your prospects and encourage them to make a buying decision faster. How to avoid mistakes while implementing your SaaS customer acquisition strategy? Are all mistakes equal?

Customer retention: the foundation of acquisition and growth

ProfitWell

Acquisition is the weakest growth lever. We studied the levers—acquisition, retention, and monetization—of 512 SaaS companies. We found that monetization and retention have much higher revenue impacts than acquisition when considering the same level of impact across each growth lever. While you may have the best acquisition process in the business, if your retention is terrible then it’s all worthless. How do we know this?

What Is Customer Acquisition Cost ?

Rakam

The purpose of every marketer is to help their company to achieve growth. Best marketers don’t just focus on growth are they focus on sustainable growth in the long term. Most of the times marketing professionals forget about the long term part of the growth and just focus on making business decisions to acquire new customers without thinking about the costs. So how do we think about the long term part of the growth and whether our marketing strategies are efficient or not

The Inside Story of How Trello’s Marketing Team Evolved After the Atlassian Acquisition

OpenView Labs

Overnight transformation through acquisition. “We At the time of the acquisition, the Trello team was about 120 people and Atlassian employed more than 2,000 people. One of Stella’s primary post-acquisition roles was ensuring that Trello stays Trello-y.

SaaS acquisitions can be tricky

Practical Advice on SaaS marketing

Having lived through several acquisitions during my career in technology companies, I have some idea of what the folks at SuccessFactors (acquired by SAP last year) and Taleo (acquired by Oracle a few weeks ago) are going through. One reason behind the acquisitions of software-as-a-service (SaaS) companies is the high cost of sales and marketing. Even well-established SaaS companies typically pay 40 percent or more of their annual revenue on customer acquisition.

SaaS acquisitions: It's about money and genes

Practical Advice on SaaS marketing

Another week, another software-as-a-service (SaaS) acquisition. To be more accurate, it's really "another week, another four SaaS acquisitions." Among the more prominent purchases, Oracle bought Vitrue, following its acquisitions of Taleo and RightNow. billion, while it's still digesting its earlier multi-billion acquisition of SuccessFactors. acquisitions customer acquisition organization SaaS marketing

Three Observations About the Adobe/Marketo Acquisition

Tomasz Tunguz

trailing twelve months, the third highest multiple for large software acquisitions. In fact, relative to acquisitions of software companies growing at similar rates, at $4.75B, Third, the multiple expansion in the SaaS market continues, and it’s incredible. About two years ago, Marketo was publicly traded and valued at roughly $1.1B. Vista Equity paid $1.8B to take the company private, a 64% premium.

Red Hat's Acquisition - A Triumph of Open Source

Tomasz Tunguz

Over the weekend, IBM announced the largest software acquisition of Red Hat, an open-source software company, for $35B. It is the largest software acquisition in history, and the third largest technology acquisition (Dell/EMC at $67B and JDS/SDL for $41B were both larger hardware mergers). Three of the largest software acquisitions of the last ten years have been open source. Relative to other multiples paid this year, this acquisition price isn’t an extreme.